• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Help me pick a new radio please.

longhaireddwb

W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member
Oct 8, 2008
Colorado Springs, CO
If the right combination comes along from your recommendations I'd buy very soon but I haven't bought new in a long time so I need some help finding what I want.

To start with, I'm a truck driver. I drive a 2017 Kenworth so I only have room for something that is no bigger than a Cobra 29 w/ front mic. The cubby hole is just not big enough for anything else so a 148 or 959 is out of the question.
I'd love to have 100w but 50w would be ok too. Not big on echo or talk-back but I do want a solid SSB radio with good modulation on AM. I do like the bigger meters in the Galaxy radios but that's not a deal breaker. I was looking at the new President radios but not sure if this radio is as solid/good as it used to be or if you can still find them. I do CW and SSB as much as possible but when in the city I need to be able to chat on AM.
I drive a lot in large metro areas so I have to deal with blead-over from adjacent channels so a radio that can cut this out would be a bonus.
The audio on the Stykers is killer and the SSB on the 2510 was the best I've seen besides a real Ham Rig. But the styker wont fit in the hole and I no longer have a 2510 or a 2950. The last 2950 I had had a big heat sink on the bottom (N2 model) and that wont even come close to fitting in the hole. So no heat sink on the bottom of the radio but a small fin on the back should be ok as I managed to get the 706 in there. Barely! LOL.