• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

I am brand new to cb's have basic questions, and problems

nomad20012

Jun 30, 2005
this is my first cb and im know i must have something basic screwed up but id like some help to save me time please.
I have a cobra 19 dx IV powered direct to the battery and grounded well. It has 15 ft of good quality cb coax running to a Wilson silver load 4 ft 200 watt antenna mounted to the rear passenger body of my jeep.
Ok, I have had no luck recieving anything. I dont have any signal at all. Everything seems ok, when i key the mic, i get a full bar graphic on the lcd. I am trying to adjust for the swr but am not sure if i have another problem. Would i get any kind of incomming signal if it is not tuned perfect? I have adjusted the tip of the antenna all over and still nothing. I have checked all my connections they look good. Is my voltage in too low? because i have only 12 volts at the radio, i read it should be above 13?
Any ideas? thank you

Yeah... First of all get yourself an SWR meter... Your going blind on this one trying to adjust with no meter... Can buy one that will get you by at Radio Shack.

And because you don't have a Meter... Those little red lights mean nothing... If you have something grounded out you won't receive and if that's happened I am surprised you havn't burned the radio up.

On the other hand you could have a perfectly good antenna system and the radio could be messed up... You need to get an swr meter and start there.

Are you getting any static at all out of the speaker?? If not your internal speaker could be blown, seen it many times, and a quick external plug-in would tell if that's all it was.

You cannot adjust SWR without a reliable meter ... Those little red lights on the front won't tell you much.