• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Meter advice wanted

o8k

Nov 16, 2010
Hello,

I am rather new to the raido thing and i am looking for some advice on metering equipment. I have a magnum 257HP at the moment, a Roadpro Power/SWR meter, and a classic 102" Stainless 1/4wave whip.

I originally bought the roadpro just to tune SWR (for my old midland 1001z cb), but as my hobby interest increases, im finding it very handy to have a meter hooked up at all times.

So here are my questions:

Does anyone have any suggestions about permenent meters for mobile applications? which ones are good ones to have? I was looking at the Dosy TC 3001P.

Does anyone know if this meter i have reads PEP or AVG power? IM trying to determine if its broken, my radio is broken, or if i just dont understand what im looking at on the meter.

Does anyone know what the roadpro meter should show when keying up in SSB? I have studied AM transmission pretty good, dead key and swing make perfect sense to me. But does my radios SSB supress the carrier? My meter doesnt read anything w/ SSB DK, and only wiggles slightly when talking into it.

What should my watt meter look like for DK and swing on SSB?

(This thought is probably deserving of a different thread, but illustrates my curiosity and want for a better meter and more information)