1. In celebration of the launch of the new redesigned site, we just gave away a FREE antenna! Click Here to See Who Won!

Mounting A99 Base Antenna

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by chec0, Feb 19, 2008.

  1. chec0

    chec0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to know what you guys have had the best luck with in mounting a A99, I had mine on a direct TV mount and it worked fine until we had a couple of windy days and it ripped the whole mount off my roof, now i dont think ill be able to put a tower up so that is out of the question, so how are the mounts that come off the side of the house are those pretty sturdy or what???


     
    #1
  2. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    837
    Likes Received:
    79
    Not really go with a pushup pole. Yhat is what i have mine on. no problems at all.(y)
     
    #2
  3. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    117
    push up pole only if a tower is out of possibilites.i got 1 attached to my home
    my first one i left free standing welll mother nature bent the top section.so give
    it good support mines attached to home and tied off at the top to my propane tank
     
    #3
  4. park

    park Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2006
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    1

    Priceless..........
     
    #4
  5. Slim

    Slim Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    5
    (y)(y)(y)
     
    #5
  6. novakor

    novakor Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    2
    Oh my:unsure:
     
    #6
  7. Switch Kit

    Switch Kit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    11
    Nice fuse :drool:
     
    #7
  8. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    117
    it works
     
    #8
  9. Switch Kit

    Switch Kit Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,517
    Likes Received:
    11
    Was just kidding Hotrod. Sounds kind of dangerous tying it to a propane tank , a lightning hit "might" not be very pleasent. Peace
     
    #9
  10. chec0

    chec0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so noone likes the side wall mounts???
     
    #10
  11. hotrod

    hotrod Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    117
    its tied off with hd rope
     
    #11
  12. loosecannon

    loosecannon break on through

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,968
    Likes Received:
    175
    checo,


    those mounts are just fine.
    its about what you bolt the mount to...

    they are usually mounted to the facia boards of the roof, at the apex.
    depending on the age of your house, and the climate you live in; these facia boards could only provide as much support as thick cardboard.

    to try for the most secure installation:
    first make sure the facia boards are not rotted, or infested.
    then get some 10d-16d galvanized nails, and reinforce the facia boards where they are nailed together.
    a few fresh nails can tighten everything up nicely.

    now, dont bother with lag bolts or big wood screws; drill holes all the way through the facia boards and use 5/16" or 3/8" bolts (whichever will fit the holes of the mount).
    use fender washers on the backside, and regular flat washers on the mount side.
    use nylock nuts (nuts with a nylon insert in them to prevent vibrating loose),
    or at the very least, lock washers.

    tighten everything up nicely, and you will have a mount that will tear the side of your house off before it will fail.

    oh yeah, one thing i have done in the past, when i wanted the bottom (wider) eve mount to be further down from the top one than the pitch of my roof would allow; i ran a 10' piece of unistrut across the facia boards and bolted it in place.
    then i bolted the bottom mount to the unistrut.

    there's always a way!
    good luck,
    LC
     
    #12
  13. 74IN

    74IN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    52
    Describe the roof.

    A gable?

    I've had good luck with chain link fence top rail for a mast.

    It comes in 10'6" or 21' sections.

    1 3/8" diameter, good for about 10' above the support.

    Gotta check it for straightness, lots are bowed.

    I've used it to about 30' with an A99.
     
    #13
  14. 74IN

    74IN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
    Messages:
    1,831
    Likes Received:
    52
    Lots of fascia is 2X6. Nice and solid, older houses (pre 60's) might use 1X.

    If it's been built in the last 30 years, it is probably 2X6.

    The strongest part on the gable end is at the peak. There should be a ridge board that will make it solid.

    If it's a hip roof, the fascia is relatively low, you might consider a tripod on the peak.
     
    #14
  15. chec0

    chec0 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    My house is only 5 years old and im in the wide open i got no tree's to slow wind down
    im gonna try the side wall mounts , first i gotta measure my over hang and than order them up
    thanks for the help everyone
     
    #15

Share This Page