• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

need help with tower setup

excavator701

May 23, 2005
i am new to setting up a tower so i have a few questions i have 70ft 0f rohn25 i want to put it on a hingeplate system the base of my hinge plate will be 3x3x3 my question is how log should my crackup pole be for easy rigging up and down and whats the best way of rigging the tower i was tolf i need to rig 2 pullys on the tower one @ 60ft and another@30 so the tower wont buckle under load halfway down!! is there anybody outhere that can send me diagrams or pics or both to go by i need to know how to rig the cable from pullys all the way around the tower to the crankpole to the crank and also need to know the best size steel to use in making the hingeplate thanks for the help!!!!!

excavator701,
I really hate to tell you this but I don't think a 70' Rohn tower will work as a "tilt-over" on a hinged base without professional/competent help. "Trussing" the tower is one way of doing it, but that's not really all that simple. (Sure, the idea is simple, but the 'doing' of it isn't!) Not being a professional or competent in that sort of thing, I certainly can't tell you what you need to know. Sorry...
- 'Doc

I agree with W5LZ. A rohn 25 that size won't be easy to raise safely. Mine is 60 ft., and I'm lucky to have it up without anyone getting hurt, and only minor damage to tower.

Hello Excavator 701:

Yeah I have to agree with Doc and Gearhead there. Tilting over such a tall tower I am sure can be done, but a professional stress engineer and big money equipement might be needed.

Thats why many use crank up and down towers, that tilt over when retracted all the way down. Makes its much easier to do.
Makes it real easy to adjust or tweak the antennas.

Jay in the Mojave

excavator701,