• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Power mic on SSB?

309hellinois

Oct 5, 2014
illinois
I have a grant lt behind a ts 250 hdv with a road devil mic. As I'm new to SSB, would it be best to just run a noise canceling mic and skip the extra power? I run it at around 1 or 2 on the slider anyway. I don't see the grant over driving a 2 pill so I can't imagine a problem from that.
Thanks in advance for any advice!

A good stock mic on SSB will sound better than a noise canceller. Modulation over 100% is defeating on SSB because you will over drive the ALC and your speech will be clipped and garbled.

Reactions: binrat
A good stock mic on SSB will sound better than a noise canceller. Modulation over 100% is defeating on SSB because you will over drive the ALC and your speech will be clipped and garbled.
I bought the mic when I acquired the radio from suggestions. I've run it a few times in the mobile on am but the benefits of ssb have changed my preferences. I didn't get the stock mic with the radio. But I had it aligned and tuned. I'm not out for over modulation. I'd rather keep it clean.

I would try several different mics and see what sound your locals prefer. All depends on which one matches up to your voice type/style best. The Grant LT is a fine talking SSB radio, I will assume you have already had a quality tune/alignment done with nothing clipped. After that with a power mic you will just have to find the sweet spot so to speak. You might end up running the radio mic gain at say 1/2 to 2/3's and the power mic at 1/4 to 1/2.