• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Quick! Icom R-71a vs JRC NRD-525 vs Kenwood R-1000/5000

Nightshade

Sep 16, 2009
These are the radios it has come down to once I looked beyond the Realistic DX-160. " Icom R-71a vs JRC NRD-525 vs Kenwood R-1000/5000"

The thing is I have no experience with any of them and only have what I can find on the web to form an opinion with. If anyone here as any had experience with any of these then please......WHICH ONE IS THE BETTER CHOICE FOR A RETIRED GEEZER'S CASUAL DEPENDABLE LISTENING? (Note: Just ONE of these radios I can buy so I must not be able to out grow it too soon, please.)

I need the advice ASAP since I need to move on to learning the antenna end of this hobby.

Thanks in advance. ;)

IMHO go with the JRC NRD-525. Better all way around. JRC makes some really nice stuff. I think you will find it has better AM performance than the Icom. This coming from an R-1000 owner BTW. Go with the NRD-525 and be happy. (y)

IMHO go with the JRC NRD-525. Better all way around. JRC makes some really nice stuff. I think you will find it has better AM performance than the Icom. This coming from an R-1000 owner BTW. Go with the NRD-525 and be happy. (y)

Advice noted, thank you. Now I need to get lucky enough to find one. :eek:

I've owned several R71As. The detector performance is sub standard on AM. There are mods on the web for that. Otherwise OK but eventually the memory board will need replacement.

Dunno about the others.

Oh crap! When I saw the word "Quick" in the thread title I thought you had your eyes on one and waiting to make an offer. Ummm......er..... good luck.
I do but the price is rapidly going out of my range.:eek:

On another note............