• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Some Practical Questions - Exploring Ham Radio

TheIrishJedi

Oct 18, 2009
Louisville, KY
Greetings.

Ham Radio is something that I've always been interested in and now I think I'd like to take some steps to explore it.

- I live in an apartment and cannot be hoisting up big antennas on my balcony. Is the hobby still viable for me?

- I am a student and on a budget, but can make a $300 investment to start out with. Is the hobby still viable for me? Can you point me to a good online retailer and maybe make a suggestion or two?

- Will Ham Radio woo the ladies or will this hobby detract from my sex appeal?

Thanks.

- The Irish Jedi

Hiya Jedi and welcome to the forum!!

Lets start with this

- I live in an apartment and cannot be hoisting up big antennas on my balcony. Is the hobby still viable for me?.....

Yes,there are a few antenna makers that offer small antennas that will clip onto a balcony rail for both HF and VHF/UHF bands,just have to look around a bit to find what you are looking for.Naturally the VHF/UHF antennas will be alot easier to get set up with limited space than a HF antenna but there are a few HF antennas out there that will work just fine

- I am a student and on a budget, but can make a $300 investment to start out with. Is the hobby still viable for me? Can you point me to a good online retailer and maybe make a suggestion or two?