• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Testing Equipment For Radio Repair

Raccoon

Oct 27, 2005
www.youtube.com
Hi everyone, I've been in the radio hobby for most of my life (40 plus years), both CB & Ham radio ... and finding a good repair service these days is becoming harder & harder to find . That is, without shipping my stuff out , and I am definitely not a fan of trusting any of my equipment to any of our delivery services . They haven't been doing the best job at making sure our radios get to us undamaged .

Which has influenced me in deciding to start getting my own test equipment so I can work on my radios myself when they need it . I'm not looking to spend a lot of money on anything since I'm just starting out and only working on my own equipment . I was looking at RF Signal Generators , and I noticed that there are a lot of older ones out there . Which got me wondering , how well would something like an Eico 324, or a Heathkit IG-102 work for working on some of the newer radios (70s, 80s, 90s) ?

Any help would be appreciated .

Last edited:
Reactions: Shadetree Mechanic

Looking at those , they aren't looking very affordable to the "Average Guy" . I'm looking for something around $100 for working on my own personal equipment , which is usually older . So do you have any affordable examples to offer ?

I'm looking for something around $100
With all due respect, it's very unlikely you'll find anything suitable for use at that price. Older equipment is usually going cheap for a reason........it either doesn't work, barely works, or needs to be recapped, calibrated, etc. etc.

Accuracy in test equipment is paramount, so if you are serious about working on your own gear, start saving up your dollars and buy a synthesized signal generator as SuperLid advised....