• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

VHF/UHF Base Antenna Recommendations for Newbie

RoyinVA

Feb 10, 2021
Hi, I am a new ham operator who is working from home since the pandemic. I live in a mountainous area of western Virginia and am surround by mountains on most sides. The closest active repeater for 2m is about 20 miles away. My roof is too steep and high for me to climb so I'm looking at mounting a Comet GP-9 on a 10 or 20 foot top rail pole (for chain-link fencing) and attaching it to a corner support 4x4 of my deck with conduit clamps and running about 12 feet of LMR-400 or similar low-loss coax to my shack in the finished basement via a MFJ panel pass through in the window. My deck is about 15 ft high.

Does this sound like a workable and safe set up that will enable me to hit a repeater at least 20 miles away? Right now I just have a Baofeng BF-F8HP HT up and running but am planning on purchasing a power supply for my Kenwood TM281 and using it as a base since I'm not commuting anymore (plus I bought a new 2021 Subaru Crosstrek and don't want to mar it with a magnetic mount antenna.

All comments/suggestions gratefully appreciated.

Thanks,
Roy

I’m thinking that Comet GP-9 would be sufficient to reach that closest 2 meter repeater, but it’s also a dual band antenna. Reaching any UHF repeaters over the hills might be questionable. VHF is better suited. Since your Kenwood TM281 is VHF only anyway, I would go with a beam such as the Diamond A144S10 at half the cost with more gain. You could also make your own. In any case the higher the better. Another option that many others are doing in your situation is to setup an Allstar or Echolink node.

Roy: I am guessing your deck is off second floor type balcony. This deck is supported by 4 x 4 posts from ground level. (?)