• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

SSB operating help

T

thumbs1

Ok I got the Grant and it is truly a great radio. I'm no expert but it sure is nice. Been usin it a few weeks now and would like to understand somethin about SSB. One of the reasons I got it was to learn somethin different. Didn't know much about SSB then and to tell ya the truth don't know much about it now. I do know there must be somethin to it though. Hey can you guys help me get into this SSB stuff? Were are the stations most people are on? What is the major reason for the SSB over the regular AM. Someone told me it has a further range. What is the difference in distance? I'm usin it in my PU. Can anyone get me started here?

Thanks guy's

thumbs........Souderton, Pa.</p>

Will answer as best I can...

I've heard the most people out there on channel 38 lower side band.

The upper 5 CB channels are said to be reserved for SSB. It's an informal agreement though and typically I hear a lot of locals using those channels for regular AM use.

Not many locals usually use SSB. I use SSB when I want to shoot skip (where signals propogate thru atmosphere and end up someplace else) not local talking. For local conditions I use AM on the usual trucker channel. For other contacts, I go with SSB.

It's a narrower bandwidth than AM is. Uses no carrier. You can hear more than one person talk at once on the sidebands.

It's about impossible to determine how much more range you'll get. All depends on conditions...

Don't forget you have the clarifier knob. You use that to tune a station in that might be a little off frequency.

Is my nickle...

Tim S.
</p>

what is it used for

Tim S.