• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Surface mount soldering question?

Techno1

Feb 21, 2022
New Hampshire
Anyone out here doing surface mount soldering.
If so what are you using for flux.
Im looking for a good Gel flux not the rosen core flux liquid.
I see on ebay in syringes but was looking to get in a bottle.
So if you are using a Gel flux what name brand.
thanks for any help.

Anyone out here doing surface mount soldering.
If so what are you using for flux.
Im looking for a good Gel flux not the rosen core flux liquid.
I see on ebay in syringes but was looking to get in a bottle.
So if you are using a Gel flux what name brand.
thanks for any help.
Amtech 559

I'm fairly new to gel fluxes myself, I currently have MG Chemicals 8341 and Chipquik's SMD291 (sample that came with low MP solder). Both work well. Of these two, I am leaning towards the MG Chemicals because it seems to be non-conductive and does a nicer job, but it takes a little more time with the heat than the chipquik stuff on oxidized surfaces.

For non-rosin liquid fluxes, I have Kester 951 and Chipquik CQ4LF. Both of them are considered no-clean (AFAIK). The kester stuff works great on clean surfaces and new components and leaves almost no visible residue and does not show conductivity once dry (my go-to liquid stuff right now), but it is not active enough to touch an oxidized surface and it evaporates fairly quick under heating. The CQ4LF is more active and I save that for more oxidized surfaces that the kester can't do. The oldest dirtiest copper pcb in my junk bin can take solder as is with the CQ4LF liquid flux, but I don't find myself using it that often. Only downside is a small amount of visible white residue and it's fumes are not very pleasant when soldering.