• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

10 meter help

DragoSapien

KF5AEJ
Dec 28, 2008
Ft.Stockton, Tx.
Iv only been using VHF/UHF with repeaters, and now I would like to get into HF 10 meters. I would like to reach out to about 200 miles with out the use of a repeater. Can I do this, and how many watts would I need. Would the hill around me affect it much. Sorry, I'm new to this part of HF. I would also like any mobile radio recommendation.

73's

10 meter is not normaly used for local comms. I have talked up to 90 miles line of sight on 10, but not consistantly. Just get a decent hf rig, put ur antenna up as high as u can, and have fun. We have been getting some good openings lately. Just remember as a tech u are limited to 200 watts, and ssb,cw, and digital only. Remember ssb between 28.300 and 500. with USB, do not operate above 497.
Rich

10 meter when open will give you some nice contacts ..but it isnt open much these days,another year will make a huge difference...

you might get 100 miles direct contact local but that is streching it,50 to 70 miles is pretty common.Nation wide and when everything falls into place Europe and Australia can be done

as far as a radio goes,might look at a regular HF rig ..puts out 100 watts

Some are fairly reasonable used.300 to 500 $ and will be all you will need if/when you upgrade your ticket

And something you might want to look at is getting your general class ticket.That will give you a good piece of all the HF bands and 1500 watts of power instead of being limited to 200 watts

Within the past couple of days I have hit Poland,France,Russia and Sweden on 17 meters...so the bands are starting to open up a bit

On 40 meters and 80 meters 200 to 400 miles is very common