• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

10 Meters

Bob S.

Oct 28, 2008
Northwestern Otsego, Co., NY.
I'm studying for my amateur license and I'm really interested in 10 meters. As I understand it, under the right propagation conditions, 10 meters is capable of world wide DX. I've also read that a lot of the time It's local communications of 40-50 miles only. 40-50 miles?

I'm tempted to buy a 10 meter base and antenna, but I'd hate to find out later that there's nobody close enough to talk to most of the time. I do live on top of one of the higher hills in the area and I have a 20' telephone pole in the back yard that I used to have my C.B. antenna on. This is all new to me and I'd appreciate any feedback.

Bob

Depends on the wattage of the radio for local talk, like my 10 meter radio ( an HTX-100 ) puts out 25 watts on high and 5 watts on low. I generally don't hear anything unless the atmospheric conditions are right then you have good DX.

T23

Yup. You can talk to the whole entire world on 10 with under 100 watts and a wet noodle antenna when the cycle is good.

Consider buying a rig that works on all of H.F. for when you get your license. Plenty of other bands to use while waiting for openings on 10. Plus u get more for your money with ham rigs.

Bob,
CB radio and ham/amateur radio are two different 'ball-games' altogether. They are both radio, but that's about the only similarity. CB radio is a one-band thingy where ham radio is a more than 10 band thingy. Those bands are spread out all over the radio spectrum, from 160 meters (just above the AM broadcast band) to 1.2 Ghz (approaching the microwave stuff) and above. 10 Meters is only one of those bands.
I would suggest finding out more about ham radio before buying a radio.