1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

5' antenna recommendations

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by SuperDave, Dec 16, 2013.

  1. SuperDave

    SuperDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    8
    I'm looking for a 4' or 5' antenna to use in place of my whip because I can't use my whip all the time.

    Any recommendations? I'm running a TS500 so it needs to have the ability to hold some watts.



    K40 4' super flex? Firestick? or all they just about the same?
     

  2. w9cll

    w9cll W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,832
    Likes Received:
    2,824
    TS500?
     
  3. SuperDave

    SuperDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    8
    Texas Star 500
     
  4. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,832
    Likes Received:
    777
    I can't recommend any particular antenna but can give this advice. Look for an antenna of the required length that can handle at least twice whatever power you plan to feed it. I'd also recommend that you discount the typical manufacturer's power ratings by at least half or more. Or even better, figure those ratings are in Pep and you figure your power in Avg units. Sounds like a lot of over-kill, but it's certainly safer.
    If you think you might want to make your own instead of buying an antenna, and you have the ability to do some welding, and if you have a typical 102" whip, you have a pretty good starting point. That would require some experimentation, but you'd probably end up with an antenna capable of handling whatever you put into it.
    Not much specific help, huh? Sorry...
    - 'Doc
     
  5. w9cll

    w9cll W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    3,832
    Likes Received:
    2,824
    Since the Ts500 is listed as a CW transmitter then your key down time will be very short but is many pulses. I commend you for running CW moblie, that really takes skill. :pop:

    Ok all joking aside I can't add more then what Doc already said.
     
  6. 22racer

    22racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    As far as 4 or 5 ft fiberglass antennas are concerned I ve had my best luck with Firestik. Only took about 8 months to wear the outer insulation off a 4 ft K40. Then the conductor where the insulation was worn opened and the element was waay to short for 27mhz. I used a 5ft Firestik FS2 mounted in the same position for two years after that without a problem. I run a Wilson 5000 mag mount in the center of the roof now.
     
  7. dave457

    dave457 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    756
    Likes Received:
    693
    Skipshooter antenna

    Sent from my SGH-T599N using Tapatalk
     
  8. kor b

    kor b Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    8
    I also use a skipshooter at this time. I like it and it's rated for some power...how much power I'm not real sure, but I don't have a box in line for now.
     
  9. 2RT307

    2RT307 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,307
    Likes Received:
    753
    I have ran both the Wilson Silver Load and the Firestik II. Both worked well, and handled a TS500 without any problems.

    73,
    RT307
     
  10. Robb

    Robb Yup

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    11,138
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    I liked the 5 ft SilverLoad. Top loaded. So long as it is properly mounted, either antenna is fine. I run the Sirio 5000 now because it is a quite a bit taller and I like it best for RX and TX over any other tried so far.
     
    1 person likes this.
  11. SuperDave

    SuperDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    8
    I've got a 5' Silver load and it used to have flat SWR but no longer does. I switched tool boxes on my truck and the only thing I can thnk of is that this new box isn't grounded well enough to the bed/frame?

    I hooked up the grounding wire on the silver load and my SWR doesn't change.. It's just sky high. However I can put the whip on and my SWR is perfect.

    Any ideas?
     
  12. 22racer

    22racer Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    7
    Since the 102" whip seems to be working well (with the same mount and coax Im assuming) first thing I would do is go over that silver load with a fine tooth comb. Any damage to the wire conductor that is wound up the fiberglass shaft can result in a loss in performance...
     
  13. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,832
    Likes Received:
    777
    By any chance... was that new tool box a 'diamond-plate' one? I had one that I mounted antennas on that was a real PITA, they never made a good 'seal' if that makes sense. I finally resorted to an 'L' type bracket and/or a mount that bolted to the box. A typical antenna mount is made for a 'flat' surface not one with 'bumps' on it. (Electrically they did fine, but the box was always 'wet' after mounting them.) The hinges can be a problem because of any non-metal bushings. Same for the latches. The antennas were finally mounted to the sides/front of the box.
    Good luck.
    - 'Doc
     
  14. SuperDave

    SuperDave Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    8
    It is diamond plate but the old was too. With the old box I could get my SWR to nearly flat on all 40ch. The only difference is that the old box was bolt to the floor of the bed and the new one uses J hooks that clamp under the rail. I'm going to try to ground the toolbox to the bed and see if that changes anything.

    The Wilson has ears and I can receive and I've also noticed that there isn't as much static or interference with this antenna when compared to the 102.
     
  15. W5LZ

    W5LZ Crotchety Old Bastard

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    6,832
    Likes Received:
    777
    :)
    I had to replace those 'J'-hooks with 1/4" bolts through the bed rails. Didn't believe it but one antenna was large enough that it broke the box loose from those hooks. Your antenna isn't going to be that large so that's a different deal. But... live-n-learn.
    - 'Doc
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!