• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

??? about the NPC MOD!!!

doc919

Dec 6, 2012
mid south tennessee
Ok I've read numerous times that it is better to have your equipment/radio set up at a 1 to 4 ratio.on output to have a clean signal without distortation.. I have seen where there can be a higher ratio n still sound real good (not on a meter). So if a 1 to 8/10 ration be loud n sound good to some then wouldn't a deadkey of 1 swing to 30 after tuned be more like a "splatter box" & if not then why? Would it be because of the negative peak. I know it may be a dumb? ?? But I am just getting into the hobby n trying to understand

Ok I've read numerous times that it is better to have your equipment/radio set up at a 1 to 4 ratio.on output to have a clean signal without distortation.. I have seen where there can be a higher ratio n still sound real good (not on a meter). So if a 1 to 8/10 ration be loud n sound good to some then wouldn't a deadkey of 1 swing to 30 after tuned be more like a "splatter box" & if not then why? Would it be because of the negative peak. I know it may be a dumb? ?? But I am just getting into the hobby n trying to understand

Just because a radio might swing a bunch means little. A good number of exports can be made to swing a huge amount but their audio still could be flat as a pancake.
If your radio starts to swing way too much....such as 1/2 watt key swinging to 30, it might sound distorted and then again maybe not, depends on the radio.
Since you are new just use one of the forum's recommended techs...... don't worry about waveforms and splatter. 99% of Cbers want to just sound impressive and could care less about bleeding over a few channels. If a radio doesn't have enough audio to scatter a few channels, it is anemic.