1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Alinco DM-430T 30 Amp Power Supply

Discussion in 'Ham Equipment' started by Mudfoot, Feb 26, 2018.

  1. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    2,729



     

  2. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    2,729
    Bought one of these. It was in continuous operation for a week. The display kept showing 13.8 volts. Then, it went to 14.0 volts and stayed there. After a couple days I started hearing HASH about every 30 kHz on HF. I had one of their earlier switch modes. It too, was a hasher. I was hoping this one wasn't.

    So, I ordered an Astron SS-30M switcher. I hope it's not a TURD.
     
  3. Low_Boy

    Low_Boy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    589
    Likes Received:
    135
    I will be curious to hear how the Astron works. Keep us posted.
    Thanks.
     
  4. Chevboy0167

    Chevboy0167 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    42
    Hiya Mudfoot. I bought a brand new SS-30M to replace the Pyramid switcher I had cuz of hash. The Astron is a disappointment. Hash all over the place. Could be I got a bad unit. My resolve was the MFJ MightyLite series switchers. I have the 25 amp and the 30 amp 4230MVP. Both have been very clean so far but the fan noise may be an issue because they run all the time. I may mod the fan supply with a temp control switch circuit.
     
  5. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    2,729
    Hopefully, your Alinco behaves.
     
  6. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    2,729
    I'm thinking of tearing into it and ensure all case and component screws are well grounded. I wonder if putting a ground lug on it will help. I was working it a little. It ran 24/7 at 6 amp draw. Maybe things expanded and loosened up a bit from heat.

    Any thoughts?

    I have other uses for it that hash isn't a problem. I bought one of Astrons first venture into SS supplies. That thing was like a nuclear reactor when I turned it on. It had so much RFI. It was crazy.
     
  7. KC9Q

    KC9Q Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    65
    I have an Alinco DM-330MV 30A switching supply that has been working for 10 years without fail. No hash, no birdies; just good clean DC at 13.8V. Used it for the IC-7000 at first, and now the FTDX3000.

    People that had problems with noisy switching power supplies usually use torrids on the output and additional filter caps. You'd have to Google that info, Mud, to get the specifics.
     
  8. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    2,729
    I owned one of the Alinco DM-330 a few years back. I don't recall having any issues with it. Not sure why I got rid of it.
     
  9. StrangeBrew

    StrangeBrew Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    551
    For those with Astrons that have hash problems does yours have meters with lights?

    Can't remember the models effected right now but on some Astron switchers the ones with no meters and meters without lights were clean but once lights were added they started producing hash. Reason being that while the output was well filtered the lights weren't tapped into it, they had their own circuit that wasn't filtered at all which radiated noise.

    Try disconnecting the lights and see if that cures the problem, if it does and you want lights tap into the supplys main output to power them.
     
  10. MicroWave

    MicroWave Survivalist

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2018
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    19
    The problem is that most power supplies in compact design have more or less cooling problems, especially in continuous operation. If they don't have any noise offset control, this can also lead to problems. It could also be related to the ambient temperature if it is too high or if there is not enough air exchange.
     
  11. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    2,729
    My Astron is working good so far. Mine is the lastest model with LED meter lights. I believe the earlier ones with incandescent were an issue.
     
  12. Chevboy0167

    Chevboy0167 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2017
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    42
    Hmmmmmm... mine does have incandescent. I may give this new and gratefully appreciated info a shot!
     
  13. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    8,426
    Likes Received:
    2,729
    kinda leaning that way.
     
  14. L2

    L2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2018
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    19
    I can recommend this power supply too. No hash at all.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!