• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Aluminum Clad Wire Wound Resistors???

ElectronTubesRule

Sep 6, 2011
Do these only provide a benefit if mounted to chassis or heat sink? I have never used them before and was going to use them since I have them already in my parts pin. The circuit is being built on perf board or bread board.....So I was wondering if they would provide any real benefit if they do not have a surface to transfer heat too? It is my voltage doubler/rectifier board. I was figuring that since I have them I might as well use them? If I need to I could leave them off the board and mount them to the chassis if it is going to make a big difference.

I guess I've never seen one, or at least never seen them described in that way before. I can tell you that heat 'conduction' is more efficient than heat 'induction'. 'Conduction' being the transfer of heat between contacting materials, 'induction' as in that heat being transferred through the air, free space, whatever. That depends on what the materials in contact are though.
Most all circuits of that type as you mentioned are 'open' circuits, usually no heat sink attached. No idea what the answer to your question is, sorry.
- 'Doc

My only concern would be the voltage rating of them since you are using them in a high voltage circuit. Obviously they would handle the heat better if mounted on a chassis, that's what they were meant for, however only you will know if that is necessary based on your circuit design and values used.

I have never seen them used before.Seeing how they are in an aluminum heat sink type of casing I assumed they where meant to be used on the chassis but my Dad told me not to assume things if their was any way to get the correct answer.