• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Baofeng UV-3R vs UV-5R differences?

Schlitzy

Nov 1, 2012
Rockville, MD.
Hey Guys,

I'm brand new to this, just got my GMRS license after getting excited about some Moto Talk Abouts I purchased. I'm planning (researching) repeater options for the house and the truck when traveling.

I've come across these Baofeng 3's and 5's but can't find a real comparison between the 2. I just want it for the GMRS channels and Repeater channels and Frequencies.

What exactly is(are) the largest difference between the 2? Just program-ablity with the 5 and and battery capacity?

Any input would be appreciated, THANKS!

PS, the other reason I was interested in these guys is the fact you can swap out the Antenna, which would improve the range, which is also appealing to me with the GMRS line. I don't know much about that either, other that you increase "gain" which I don't know how that is acquired, but will educate myself in that aspect as well lol. Thanks again.

Last edited:

uv5r has dual vfo. it receives on vhf and uhf simultaneously. uv3r is single vfo with split frequency. stock uv5r antenna is male dual band. i think uv3r antenna is two female single band i.e. vhf only and uhf only. better receive gain with single band antenna. i hear reports uv3r has louder tx audio. uv5r has led flashlight only. uv5r knob is on/off with volume like a cb knob. uv3r is a knob for up/down vfo only. both radios have slightly different frequency coverage outside ham bands. uv3r has 5khz step size. uv5r has 2.5khz step size.

A DTMF pad . . .

+1

I don't think I could ever own a radio without one, that's why I went with the 5r. It get's great audio reports. Tx range is better then rx with the stock antenna though, but it was still good for about 20 miles in good terrain.

+1