• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Bearcat 980SSB No Transmit problem

W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member
Sep 25, 2010
Texas
I have a 980SSB that worked fine, one night I think the desk mic may have accidentally got bumped and locked into transmit, blowing the RD16HHF1 fet eventually. The mic is a old Turner Super Sidekick, has that sliding lock switch that can be troublesome if you bump the mic around.

So this thing has sat on the shelf for many months. I pulled the RD16HHF1 Fet out and it tests bad (.02 or so) between the Gate and Source legs (Pins 1 and 2). I don't think it's supposed to read that way, though this is my first time messing with anything with a RD16HHF1.

My attempt to repair it, I found a used IRF520, that tested good, installed it with a insulator and the special bushing for the TO-220 tab so it doesn't ground the Tab to the Chassis. I cross the D/S legs to the circuit board, check everything, nothing shorted, everything connected where it should be, turned it on, same problem. Keys up on the screen, the S/RF meter starts out High, falls back slowly to 0 or 1. No output on the external power meter. Checked the bias, it's working. Used another Radio for RX, I can barely hear it, audio and some signal is coming out. Touched the Tab of the IRF520 with my Scope Probe and it got much much louder and stronger on the receiving radio.