• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Beginning Shortwave Listener

Houdini22

Jan 21, 2022
Hello,
I'm new to this forum so I hope I'm posting in the right place.

I'm a long distance sailor planning an Atlantic crossing and cruising the UK and Ireland. I want to be able to listen to WWV for time checks as I plan to do celestial navigation and get marine weather forecasts. I recently bought a Tecsun PL-880. So far, all I get is static and noise day or night on shortwave. Can someone advise me? I've tried 5, 10, 15, 20 MHz. I can hear some ticking but very faint. I'm using the included external antenna.
Thanks!

Reactions: Shadetree Mechanic

Hello,

I am a newbie here and I hope I am posting in the right place. I have always been interested in radio and such equipment, and a few years ago I started to listen to shortwave. My only equipment were a stereo boombox, but later I got a Touring Studio 107 for free. I managed to catch a lot of interesting stations, but I was limite to only 1 shortwave band. However, I managed to find a Touring Professional 107 and I hope to buy it so I can listen to some shortwave!

Hello,
I'm new to this forum so I hope I'm posting in the right place.

I'm a long distance sailor planning an Atlantic crossing and cruising the UK and Ireland. I want to be able to listen to WWV for time checks as I plan to do celestial navigation and get marine weather forecasts. I recently bought a Tecsun PL-880. So far, all I get is static and noise day or night on shortwave. Can someone advise me? I've tried 5, 10, 15, 20 MHz. I can hear some ticking but very faint. I'm using the included external antenna.
Thanks!
Hey,

Did you ever get this figured out?