1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

chimney mounted antenna?

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by BammBamm, Jun 30, 2014.

  1. BammBamm

    BammBamm Instigators ...173 on the southside.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    297
    Due to the pitch of the roof and 2 trees that cover part of the roof we can't use a tripod and the co.ment about insurance not covering scared us also. I am now trying to talk him into a imax in one of those trees. They are huge buckeye trees.


     

  2. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Elmer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    6,135
    Insurance can't deny if it's not prohibited in the policy.
     
  3. Z-MAN 369

    Z-MAN 369 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2012
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    25
    I would never put holes in my roof for a stupid CB antenna....SMFH. If a tornado takes out my subdivision I bet the only things standing would be the chimneys, lol. Alot of these houses still have huge TV ant's on their chimneys still. Just dont go crazy with tons of masting, I used a 10ft section......do a good job, dont go overboard.
     
  4. gamegetter

    gamegetter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    314
    there is a big difference between the construction of a fire place and a chimney that generally just vents natural gas
     
  5. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,516
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    I have mt A99 on my chimney and it works just fine!!
     
  6. Mudfoot

    Mudfoot Elmer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    10,870
    Likes Received:
    6,135
    Most people with common sense can look at a chimney and determine if it's structurally sound or not. I've only used a chimney once. I used mounts that were bolted. I have never used commercial made straps nor would I ever. I also would never bolt a tripod to my roof. I'd drill hole in cars all day long, but never in my roof.
     
    1 person likes this.
  7. unit_399

    unit_399 EL CAPO

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,587
    Likes Received:
    1,314
    Bamm Bamm -

    You never mentioned if your chimney was hand laid brick or cast concrete. When we lived in SoCal, I had an A99 with GP Kit on a 12' mast mounted to our chimney. I used homemade corner mounts, and 2" metal strapping that I got from the shipping dept at work. The pole and the chimney overlapped by 4'. and it was 36' to the base of the antenna. Had it up for 11 years without a problem. the chimney was cast concrete.

    - 399
     
  8. hammer0630

    hammer0630 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    62
    If your looking to NOT drill holes in your roof "I didn't" you may want to look into a EVE MOUNT they bolt up to your facia board at the peak of the roof.
     

    Attached Files:

    • 007.JPG
      007.JPG
      File size:
      1.5 MB
      Views:
      16
    • 004.JPG
      004.JPG
      File size:
      1.4 MB
      Views:
      13
  9. BammBamm

    BammBamm Instigators ...173 on the southside.

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    297
    That is the problem the side of roof to be used is non peak side. So a peak mount or a tripod won't work. To make matters worse after the storm we had last night about 1/3 of the roof shingles lifted up. So now we are working to re shingle and also he decided on a imax with no ground plane on a 6 foot mast on the chimney mount. He says we are only putting 1 foot of mast above chimney to mount imax to.
     
  10. Birddog2009

    Birddog2009 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2014
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    10
    I had a moonraker 4 mounted on a mast on a chimney once. LOLOLOL!!
     
  11. hammer0630

    hammer0630 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    474
    Likes Received:
    62
    Is their any possibility that the heat coming out of the chimney will affect the Imax being that close?
     
    1 person likes this.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!