• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Cobra 2000 gtl woahs :(

casios

Apr 3, 2005
Ok.
Transmits fine on the few channels I have tested on. Seems a bit high with a 8 watt dk and 12 watt swing. Has had channels installed. I just picked this up at a fleamarket for near nothing. I don't know the history of this radio other than what I have looked at on the inside.
I have read something like this problem before. I haven't checked all of the channels but here is what I have found.
24 tx's on frequency but rx's on channel 22???? wierd.
Sounds like I need to pull the signal gen out of the garage.
There is a resistor closer to the front R44 that is cut and next to that seems to be d 52 has been cut but resolderd back to itself?
These are the only "new" fresh marks I have seen.
I have no knowledge as to what it takes to convert this thing but other than the above mentioned it looks as if everything else has been untouched for quite sometime (plenty of dust).
The channels were used in place with the nb,anl,and pa switches.
At this time the other thing I have found is the clarifier will not work at all.....tx or rx.
The outside of this radio is clean.All the lights work as they should. The switches are crisp and snap back like new.I got the external speaker and all.
Does anyone have a schematic for this? I have looked back on the archives on this site for any useful info on this radio. I have heard that these radio's are great and may be looking to replace my 2517 if this thing will do what I've heard.
Thanks in advanced
Cas

www.cbtricks.com

Select "Radio Information" on the home page. Select letter "C" next, then scroll down to select "Cobra". The 2000GTL is 4/5ths of the way down the Cobra radio page.

One thing that may affect the picture is the age. Mileage counts for a lot, but age does, too.