• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

cobra 29 LTD and an 11 meter dipole

deadhead

redneck with a CB
Jul 30, 2011
howdy,

trying to setup my first CB base station so I figured I'd come straight to the experts. I have a cobra 29 LTD in my basement, and I ran coax up into my attic, and I strung a 11 meter half wave legth (18ft) dipole up in my attic. I honestly have no idea if this is a good setup or not. I'm still waiting on my SWR meter to show up at the front door, so I don't have one as of yet, but it should be here soon. I guess I have a couple of questions.Has anyone here used the same setup and have any gotchas I should be on the lookout for? Also, this is my first time at this, so even though I have a SWR meter on the way, I have absolutely no idea what I'm doing with it. I did power my radio up, and I noticed the red antenna light came on. I thought that was indicative of a short in the antenna, so I replaced the coax connectors, and can't find any opens or shorts, so is there another reason my red antenna light would be coming on? Any assistance would be greatly appriciated.

Thanks, Peace.

I have used dipoles with CB. My advice, check SWR on ch.40, then on ch.1:
hopefully it will be higher on 40 than 1, then trim a little, but if its higher on 1 than 40 you might need re-cut the wire, you cut too short.
trim it equally on both ends, and trim a little bit at a time.
you might also want to think about making the bottom half of it by running coax into a pipe and screwing the shielding to pipe, coax balun or just have to coax feeding it 90 degrees off for about 1/4 wavelength. they work better when the coax does not radiate.