• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

FIRST BEAM

KJ4BAE

Aug 14, 2008
I'M NEW TO HAM RADIO AND WOULD LIKE TO GET A SMALL BEAM, I'M RUNNING AN ICOM IC735 WITH AN ALPHA DELTA DX-CC WIRE RIGHT KNOW IT WORKS WELL BUT THE BEAM WOULD BE BETTER. IF THE CHOICES WERE THE CUSHCRAFT A3S OR THE TENNADYNE T-6 WICH WOULD YOU GO WITH AND WHY. I'M LOOKING FORWARD TO YOUR REPLYS. THANKS JERRY

The T-6 is a log periodic, right?

My choice between those two, based purely on the specs and reading eham reaviews (I haven't owned either) would be the T-6. You get all the bands 10-20m and also no traps. With the A3S you only get 10,15,20m (I like 17m). Anytime you can do without traps, you're better off. I'm someone else will add some other considerations, as well.

I guess you would have to decide if you want to cover 17 and 12m as well. The A3S has 3dB MORE gain and has only 4.36 sq. ft. of surface area versus the 6.2 sq. ft. of the T-6. The A3S also requires a turning radius of 15.5 ft. versus the T-6's 20 feet. Mole is right about it being nice to eliminate traps but a log periodic array has much LESS gain for the same number of elements of just about any antenna.That's the sacrifice for wide bandwidth.

Now believe me when I say I am not a big fan of Cushcraft.It has more to do with service outside of the USA then the product itself. They will not send parts outside the USA. :mad::censored: However my old A3 has been through it all from a hurricane to extreme ice conditions and I will admit I had to replace the centre insulator on the driver element but that is not too bad for and antenna that is 30 years old.