• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

FTM-350AR simultaneous data in/out?

Motojay61

Mar 20, 2012
Greetings!

I'm new to this, just having passed my first license test, but I've been geeking out in general for a long while (marine, home and car electronics mostly)

I'm looking at an FTM-350AR for my 4x4, and want to be able to simultaneously input external GPS (NMEA 1083 from a marine receiver) to the 350, and output APRS target data to a PC running Overland Navigator, which will accept the standard NMEA waypoint sentence ($GPWPL) for APRS target plotting.

Interestingly, Yaesu tech support couldn't answer the question and is emailing Japan. No answer as yet, and I'm hot to plunk down some cash for my first amateur radio!

Has anyone tried this? Any advice for the new guy would be greatly appreciated.

I know that the Kenwood D710 does this easily, but my aesthetic sense and aging eyes vastly prefer the display on the Yaesu.

Thanks,

Jay
(awaiting callsign)

Question for you: By, "...output APRS target data to a PC..." do you mean the other station's APRS beacons, or do you mean the FTM-350's navigation waypoints?

I mean the other stations' beacons, the lat/lon component of which the software expects to see in the form of an NMEA waypoint sentence. A further question would be whether the 350 adds the callsign to the sentence (which I would expect) and a big bonus would be the voice frequency a given station is tuned to, as I believe the Kenwood d