• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

FWIW

W5LZ

Crotchety Old Bastard
Apr 8, 2005
Oklahoma
Just finished the preliminary set up for powering all the 'extras' I've put in my 'new' car. Been going round-n-round with the local dealer about radios causing the battery to go dead. (Long story, you don't wanna hear it.) That dealer says a second battery could be placed in an HHR, but you have to up-grade the wiring for the 'extra' voltage that second battery would cause. I'm no electrical engineer, but I'm not that stupid either. (That second battery up-grade would cost $1600.00, by the way.) Was also told that a 'booster' was acceptable to Chevrolet, cost was about the same as the 'other' quote. (Any idea what a battery 'booster' consists of? A second battery!)
So, after the second trip back to the dealer for battery warranty work (and they did replace the thing), I decided to do that second battery set-up. I did some research and this is what I came up with.
I got a battery 'Isolator' from 'PowerWerx', and an AGM deep cycle battery. Had the battery installed and power for the radios and computer switched to it in maybe an hour. Nothing is powered directly by the vehicle's electrical system unless the motor is running. Then, the second battery is recharged as it needs it. With the motor off, only the second battery is supplying power to my 'extras'. That 'Isolator' monitors that battery and will shut things down before it is ever discharged completely. Even with the motor running nothing is powered by the vehicle's battery, only the second one.
Took longer to find a battery to 'fit' the slot than to do the installing. Everything is connected with 'PowerPoles', I don't know how it can get any easier than that.
- 'Doc