• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Galaxy DX 88HL, Complete with Great Mods

Wire Weasel

Senior Moment
Dec 13, 2008
Here is a nice 88HL that I have been using in my shop for about 6 months. Only selling as I have put a high power radio out there. Lot's of details and I like to go over everything so bear with the length.

Radio came to me with no mods and some cosmetic issues. I fixed 'er up. Faceplate and bezel were scratched up from typical use so I replaced those with new. I have managed to get a couple of little scratches in the chrome bezel but not bad. Faceplate still is as new. There was a big scratch across the amber plastic lens covering the freq. counter. I had a sheet of blue lens material on hand so I removed the amber lensing on the freq. counter and channel display and replaced with the blue and installed a blue LED in the meter. Factory readout LEDs are still the yellow-green color and the blue lens doesn't really change that much which you can see in the pics....but has a general blue light appearance across the front. Case has typical accumulation of scratches from normal use but not terrible. I'll give the overall looks an 8.5 of 10 I had to put a replacement internal speaker inside. Not a Galaxy factory speaker - came out of a different radio. Plays fine and still has the proper 2 pin connector that plugs into the circuit board. I always used an external speaker anyway.