• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Galaxy DX959

GrayGhost

Nov 21, 2018
Hello every one.
I am very new to cb radio.
I am thinking about getting the dx 959.
But I am confused buy the 2 types.
First is just the 959 and then the 959b.
Does the b model come with duel Finals.

One of the adds read this way.
Galaxy DX959B Deluxe Edition with Dual MOSFET Finals.

Does the plain dx 959 not have the duel Finals?

Any help would be most appreciated.

Oh one more thing.The radio will be for mobile use.
Is a skip shooter antenna any good.

/

The b stands for blue display. The 959 comes stock with a single final. The dual mosfet is an "upgrade" installed by a CB shop to give more power.

I like the skipshooter antennas. I haven't used one in a few years but it seemed to work well for me. But just like my problem with all antennas of this type I seem to break them rather easily hitting tree limbs and such.

The b stands for blue display. The 959 comes stock with a single final. The dual mosfet is an "upgrade" installed by a CB shop to give more power.

I like the skipshooter antennas. I haven't used one in a few years but it seemed to work well for me. But just like my problem with all antennas of this type I seem to break them rather easily hitting tree limbs and such.

Thanks codeman.........That was messing with my head.
I really don't want any CB shop in my radio until I know what grade of
work they do.

Thanks again.

I would skip the dual final upgrade, you will be paying a lot for a small handful of extra watts. All the radio should need is a check over from a good tech to make sure the radio is on frequency, modulation level is good, receive is set up correctly, and power output is normal. The only two things I would consider is a clarifier unlock and extra channels.