• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Getting a new TX for 80m AM

Captain Kilowatt

Professional Amateur
Staff member
Apr 6, 2005
Nova Scotia,Canada
For some time now I have been dabbling a bit with AM mode especially on 80m.We have a net here every Sunday morning on 3735 and I do try a bit with the crowd on 3885 but I have a QRPppp station compared to those guys. I just use a DX-60B and all of it's 50 watts. That is about to change. Some of you may recall that I was a commercial broadcast engineer for 22 years, well a former colleague has offered me a working RCA BTA-1S commercial AM broadcast transmitter for FREE! All I have to do is make the 600 mile round trip to Prince Edward Island and pick it up. I hope to do so the last week of the month. It will need extensive work to convert it to 80m but nothing beyond my abilities .It will run 1 KW carrier power at 100% modulation in continuous service which is what it was meant too. It runs a pair of 4-400's in the finals which are plate modulated by another pair of 4-400's. Walter says he has lots of spare tubes as well. I will of course have to throttle it back to 750 watts carrier power to meet the max power regulations here for AM service. ;) Still, being able to say "The rig here is an RCA BTA-1S with 3000 watts pep" sounds all too appealing. :D I have lots of other projects in the works so this may take a while but it will be worth it I think. I have a pro Sennheisser MD-421 microphone and a Gates limiter/amp as well as an Altec- Lansing microphone preamp so I should sound as good as the stations I used to keep on the air. This is going to be the longest three weeks coming, I know it will. Now if it just didn't weigh in at 900 lbs. :?

RCA BTA-1S info

Can you hear me now? :LOL:

Beetle said: