• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Help on Setup

josh08

May 14, 2011
Ky
I'm just getting started with CB's and I'm looking for more information on a setup.

CB's I'm Considering:
Cobra 29
Uniden PC78 Pro Elite

Maybe a Galaxy DX-959

Antenna's:
Wilson 5000
Predator 10k with a Tram Triple Mag Mount

It will be mounted on a 93 Chevy K1500. Any information anyone can provide me with is greatly appreciated.

All very good choices but the nuts and bolts are what counts and the uniden is a great cb but if you like ssb go with the galaxy and you won't go wrong with either antenna choice but my choice would be the wilson.

X2 on the Wilson, there just isn't any real justification for all the extra bulk of the big coil antennas in my mind except power handling.

Is Sparkys CB Shack a good place to order from? What would be the best way to power this setup? Would the Lighter Plug be the best option?

You get a good deal there and I would run a wire directly to the vehicles battery with an inline fuse of coarse and add an additional fuse at the battery.

I was also considering a 102" whip. Is their a better place to order from? Does Sparkys do a good align and tune? I was also considering the EC 2018 Xtreme mic. Is that a good choice? Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.

I was also considering a 102" whip. Is their a better place to order from? Does Sparkys do a good align and tune? I was also considering the EC 2018 Xtreme mic. Is that a good choice? Thanks for the help, I really appreciate it.

I wouldn't mount a 102" steel whip on that Tram mag mount. It won't work, as that antenna needs to see real ground (as I recently found out). The Wilson 1000 mag mount is a fine choice that you cannot go wrong with, even if you were considering running a small linear amp in the future.