• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

HI Q antenna

'H.H.',
I have no direct experience with 'Hi-Q' antennas so this is just a very generalized 'opinion'.
There are two areas that have to be considered, electrical characteristics and mechanical characteristics. Having the absolute 'best' electrical characteristics is great, but if the mechanical characteristics can't make the thing survive in the typical environment, then those electrical thingys aren't doing you much good when it breaks. Same for the other way around. It may be able to to survive the worst catastrophic accident in recorded history, but if it don't perform well electrically, who cares, right? So paying attention to both aspects of an antenna is good.
I don't have a mechanical opinion about the 'Hi-Q', never seen one. Electrically, it's comparable to the other screw driver antennas. No matter which screw driver antenna you're talking about, the amount of care and effort spent in the set up will determine how 'comparable' it is with others.
A very rough, generalized, 'ROT' is that the larger the diameter of the loading coil, and the longer the whole thing is, the more efficiency it will have, the better it will perform (to some absolutely ridiculous degree, and you already knew that anyway).
Your operating habits also come into play here. Do you, or do you think you'll jump around the band(s) much? Or, do you sort of hang out in just one or two places? If the first, then it's probably worth it. If the second, why bother? Don't know about you, but for $300 to $500, I can do a @#$$ of a lot of coil-tap changing :).
If you need a screw driver antenna, or if you just -want- one, have at it! Be sure to tell us how it works out!
- 'Doc