1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

I need antenna help

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by jkp1, May 27, 2019.

1. jkp1

jkp1 Member

I've been running mag mount antennas on my pick-up for several years, Wilson 1000's, that I replace periodically as they corrode. A couple of weeks ago, I bought a new Little Will, ( tired of hitting all the low branches in the neighborhood). It never worked right. The SWR's fluctuated randomly. I thought it might be do to all the rain. Saturday, they went really high and stayed that way. Today, I bought another antenna, but it did the same thing. I tried 3 different radio's on both antenna's, with the same result's.

I have no idea what to do next. Can anyone help?

357magnum likes this.

2. M0GVZ

M0GVZ Sr. Member

Change the coax and mount. The chances are that what has happened is the coax has become crimped or crushed where you bring it into the vehicle if its through a door, trunk, hatch etc. That will affect the SWR as the impedance of the coax is determined by the ratio of the diameter of the outer of the centre to the inner of the braid, a gap that gets reduced when you crimp or crush the coax.

Personally I'd do away with a crappy mag mount and drill a hole in the roof and use a fixed mount. Once you've done that then low branches aren't an issue unless you're using a rigid antenna like the Firestik.

3. RT431

RT431 In the swamp

I agree. Drill the hole and install a fixed mount Wilson 1k\5k on the roof. You'll be much happier.

4. jkp1

jkp1 Member

At first Ithbought that too. I got a new antenna and it did the same thing. I've been wanting to drill a hole, just haven't taken the leap. I get bogged down trying to figure out the best coax, mount .etc. I'm not lookin forward to pulling down the headliner either.