• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

J-Pole's

NS, I have no personal experience with J-poles, but I do know there are a lot of arguments even on the Internet about how difficult they are and the problems with them to build and use. On the other hand I have heard the term applied to some of the best antennas I believe are out there working, so you just have to be careful. Some think they are hot and some not.

To me it looks like and antenna with a lot of RF business going on near the botton as usual, but without a ground plane I suppose they do work the feed line and the mast pretty good. Now the fact that a 1/4 wave feeder is working a parallel ground element and this ground element is feeding the radiator at a voltage node at some height above the feed point may make this antenna even less disruptive with currents on the feed line and/or mast and maybe no ground plane is needed at all.

How is that for stradlin' the fence.

I am thinking of buying one and building one from info I got. See for myself how they work this summer. I figure it be something fun to do one of these days.

NorthStar said:
I am thinking of buying one and building one from info I got. See for myself how they work this summer. I figure it be something fun to do one of these days.

If you're interested in building any antenna at all, get the FCC Antenna Book and leaf through it. I would imagine there are plans and guidles in it on just about anything buildable. I have one and I can't find the fleeping thing to see what's there and don't remember if there is even a j=pole in it but there should be since lots of people say they built one.

I run one on 2M. Works fine. Can hit a repeater 50 miles to the north of me with 5W sometimes. Not as good as a commercial antenna, but good for the $$$$.