• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Just setting up first base unit: need help

RustDemon

Aug 21, 2011
First off, hello. I am new to the world of cbs, totally new.

I had a bunch of gear given to me. A whole bunch, I wont list it all just the stuff I intent to use in my setup, there is also a ham radio (states license requirements right on the case, and bandwidth? presets, that I may use later once I am more familiar with what I am doing and get licensed) but not for now.

here is the gear that I intend to use:

Pyramid PS-21KX power converter

Connex 3300 cb radio

silver streak 150A antenna booster

Imax 99 eighteen foot antenna, mounted with the base at 9 feet high.

damaged 40 foot coax cable , need to cut and repair.. or buy new haven't decided. I'll probably just re-solder the end on to the shortened cable. unless that is un-advisable.

Questions,
1, Should I ground all the equipment cases (cb antenna booster and powersupply) to a ground probe (in the actual ground) or can I use 12 awg wire and hook it to a ground inside the outlet box?

2, Should I ground the mounting plate of my antenna with 10 AWG wire to a ground probe, or do I not need to ground it? it was mounted on a metal pole now its mounted on Pressure treated lumber attached to my garage.

thats all for now, any help would be appreciated thanks.

Also, when I was googling around for info about setting up my antenna I heard something about a recommended length of coax for a given antenna, where do I find that, if its true? I can't seem to google it up. nor an equation to figure out optimal length for an antenna.

RustDemon,