• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

looking a handheld for forest trekking

yves

May 22, 2010
I'm new in the radio and have vhf,uhf,CB,HF.....:confused:
I found out UHF is better than vhf if there is a lot of blockage like heavy foliar.I had try Motorola XTR446 and the furthest distance I can get the signal is only 500m.I'm looking a unit not over $200 and is water proof.I found this STANDARS HORIZON HANDHELD HX-270S VHF RADIO and
Standard Horizon HX850s Handheld VHF w/GPS - HX850S - BoatersWorld.com but they r not UHF.Is there any other handheld better than this.At least I can get the signal for at least 1 mile in deep forest.Thanks.

Most people report that VHF is the superior mode in the forest, especially if there are a lot of pine trees. You didn't say where you Will be using your radio and there may be different restrictions where you live(France?). Do you have a ham license? That would open up a lot more frequencies to you. The US has a license free VHF citizens band called MURS. Perhaps you have something similar. There is also the license free UHF citizens band called FRS.

This radio can be programed with VHF and UHF frequencies in both the HAM bands as well as the license free bands. WOUXUN KG-UVD1P 136-174/400-470Mhz Dual Band + Earpiece - eBay (item 250620952370 end time May-23-10 21:49:13 PDT)

This will make the radio waterproof. http://cgi.ebay.com/Water-Proof-cas...tem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a05967342

Although these radios are not technically approved to be used on the MURS or FRS/GMRS, there is no way that anyone would be able to tell the difference on the air.