1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for optional CTSS tone board for Anytone AT-6666

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by charv, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. charv

    charv New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone know where one can be purchased?


     

  2. Moleculo

    Moleculo Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    8,831
    Likes Received:
    855
    Communications Specialists has an external CTCSS encoder that you can wire up to any radio:

    http://www.com-spec.com/insheet/te-32.pdf.

    They have a few other options you might like better, as well - check out their whole catalog.
     
  3. Chop

    Chop Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    8
    Sorry to bump an old thread, but I'm also looking for the ctcss board for a at6666. Anyone know where they can be purchased?
     
  4. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Comm-Spec is about the only ones who makes them. You can buy them from direct or from HRO for about $40.00. These aren't plug in modular boards for specific radios. These are a wired in internal type. I had one like the one pictured below in a RCI 2950 and it worked well. That's the SS-64 for encoding only. They do sell some that do both encode/decode.


    http://www.com-spec.com/tone_signaling/ts_index.html
    [​IMG]
     
    rabbiporkchop likes this.
  5. jon666

    jon666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    490
    i was looking for one for my rci 2995dx so i can activate my local repeaters.
    but i have had no luck finding one.
     
  6. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    You would use the same one I posted above. These are not the most convenient since they are DIP switches and you have to open the radio up to change tones.Then again, there aren't many 10 meter repeaters anyway.

    Instructions for installation of this board is on RCI's webpage. I do believe the board for the 2995 is he same as the 2950.

    http://www.rangerusa.com/ctcss.html#ss64
     
  7. jon666

    jon666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    490
    thanks
     
  8. BJ radionut

    BJ radionut Supporting Member and 6m addict

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Likes Received:
    765
  9. BJ radionut

    BJ radionut Supporting Member and 6m addict

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,667
    Likes Received:
    765
  10. CDX8412

    CDX8412 Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    15
    I don't speak German, and I don't know if they ship to the US, but this is the optional (now included) board...
    http://www.pmr-funkgeraete.de/Funkg...-DCS-Modul-fuer-Ham-MobileCom-1011::8745.html

    The more recent AT-6666 radios come with the CTCSS board installed, however they are set to ENC/DEC, so they won't pass audio unless the tone is received. Not really worth the trouble unless you have access to a local 10m repeater. for skip/DX, you would have to keep changing the tone until the audio passes, to let you know the correct tone (unless you know the tone for any given 10m repeater you may hear during an opening).
     
  11. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    True about not worth the trouble but not exactly correct on repeater usage.

    The new President Lincoln 2 has a CTCSS and DCS capabilities which maybe useful but the operational selection is stupid. I have this radio so I'm talking facts here. The Anytone radio mentioned seems to be the same.

    The tones can be only selected to be used as decode only, or both encode/decode. No encode only option.

    The few 10 meter repeaters I have ever used require only a PL tone to open it which is common requirement for the nearly all repeaters anyway. Therefore since these radio's can't encode only, you won't hear the repeater.

    The only thing these radio's are good for regarding the tone boards is private communications with other radio's with the same capability.

    If you are looking for 10 meter repeater access other than a real HF radio, go with the RCI 2900 series and install a tone board like the one I posted earlier or try the other manufactured versions posted on this thread.
     
  12. Chop

    Chop Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    8
    How do I know if my radio is equipped with the board already? I did not see it when I looked in the radio.
     
  13. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Which radio? The Lincoln 2 has a button clearly marked CTCSS/DCS. I would think the new version AT6666 Would have the same or at least a menu setting.
     
  14. Chop

    Chop Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    514
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have the Anytone 6666, made earlier this year. There is a dcs function in the menu but I assumed that didn't mean the board was installed.
     
  15. fourstringburn

    fourstringburn W9WDX Amateur Radio Club Member K5KNM

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,703
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Best way to know for sure is if you have another radio with PL tones and activate a DCS or CTCSS on that one and transmit the same tone on your At6666 and check for audio, then change tone freq. If no audio afterwards, then your tones board is active.

    Check your radio's menu to see if you have options for encoding or decoding or both and select the appropriate mode to complete this test.

    Even if you don't have a radio with Pl tones, just transmit on that radio to your At6666 in decoding mode and see if the tone squelch breaks.

    A piece of coax will work for a receiving antenna which is good enough for testing if you don't have 2 antennas.
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!