1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
This forum does not allow a single user to have more than one username. If anyone wants to change their username contact an admin and it will be done. Multiple accounts belonging to the same member will be deleted without warning.

Multiple antenna placement on SUV

Discussion in 'CB Antennas' started by buickid, Oct 2, 2020.

1. buickid

buickid Active Member

Hey there, finally gonna get around to drilling holes in my truck for a Breedlove puck mount. Vehicle is a 1999 Toyota 4Runner, with sunroof. I'm also an amateur, so I plan on adding an NMO mount for my 2/70 dualband, and another for a future UHF DMR or P25 radio. Based on the difficulties in tuning with a centered antenna that we've encountered with a friend's van in the other thread, and someone mentioning that large roof vehicles work better with the antenna near the rear edge of the roof, I was thinking of placing the puck maybe 12-18" from the rear hatch, with the two NMO mounts in line toward the front of the vehicle. I have to see how far back the sunroof retracts, although the coax might be able to lay flat enough that it won't make contact.

Anyone see anything critically wrong with this layout?

Slowmover likes this.

2. Slowmover

Slowmover Elmer

I’d have the CB Antenna at best position, with others at lesser.

Today, might not matter so much, but, tomorrow, CB might be the near-only way to raise another person.

Highest ratio of users.

144inBama and undertaker like this.
  3. ForestRunner98

ForestRunner98 917 SoCal

Seeing I have the same model truck...SUBSCRIBED!!!

I want to see how this turns out. I am also thinking of a drilling a hole in the roof for a Sirio Performer 5k.

buickid and Shadetree Mechanic like this.
  4. M0GVZ

M0GVZ Sr. Member