• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

New to the 10m/CB world....

biz

Dec 16, 2009
sorry but im new to this world..... but an "export radio" is a 10 meter radio modded to work on the 11 meter CB freq?

and the reason for doing this is they put out way more power out of the box than a wimpy 4 watt cb right?

And are some 10m radios unable to be modded to work on 11m?

I think that most -if not all- 10 meter radios being made today can be modded to do 11 meter/CB with little or no difficulty. They do have more power. Four watt CB radios are not necissarily 'wimpy'; they respond really well to low input level drive amps. But 10 meter radios are popular, I run a couple of them myself. Very handy.

In ye olden days of CB, if you wanted more power and extra channels, you had to modify your radio do it. So some enterprising individuals came up with the idea of introducing some radios that already had these common modifications included from the factory. The problem is that they aren't legal for sale. They started out being called 10 meter "Export" radios, because they were always listed "for export only" by the retailers. The loopholes in the laws at the time allowed this. Not long ago, those loopholes were closed, and the retailers responded by just dropping the "export" part.