• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Newbie Here! Hello! Need some ADVICE...

H

Happy Hamer

Welcome to the forum enjoy and askk all the questions you want there is usually someone here to help

I would get a 6 or 7 foot firestik they are easy to tune and you can "grow" into them

www.firestik.com/CatalogFrame.htm

offroadlogo2.gif
</p>Edited by: <A HREF=http://p067.ezboard.com/bworldwidecbradioclub.showUserPublicProfile?gid=happyhamer>Happy Hamer</A> at: 12/25/04 8:53 pm

If you're after cheap but works pretty good, the Firestik is a good bet. Even a 5' one works pretty good. Also the Lil Wil' mag mount is cheap if you want to be able to put it up and down easy.

</p>

I think I would go with the Lil' Wil over the other antenna. Also, you need an SWR meter, but that other link you provided is the wrong device. A cheap SWR meter cost around $20. If you need help using it to tune the antenna, let us know....Firestik's website also has a detailed, step-by-step guide to tuning the antenna.

</p>

Just a quick note, if he's using a 510XL, the noise canceling mic won't work well. The reason for this is because the 510's want an eletret condenser mic.

Click Here To Go To FG Best Communications

lookearth452034.gif

A word to the wise is not necessary; it’s the stupid ones that need the advice. - Anonymous</p>

Hello guys

So i finally went out and bought myself a new Uniden Pro510XL. I know it's pretty cheap and not that good but this is my first CB radio and I wanted to start off slowly and learn more about this stuff before i invest in something more expensive. Anyway, I'm thinking of getting a equally cheap antenna. What do you guys recommend for something just to start with, good range, good "swr", etc.?