• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Newbie here.

pistolero

Apr 16, 2013
Raleigh, NC
Hello out there!
I Bought a Jeep Cherokee a couple of weeks ago and I'm going to be doing some offroading, figured some com equipment might be a good idea. Have an order coming. Bought a Uniden 980SSB, a Midland 75 822, and a couple of cheap Cobra magnet mount antennas. (I know better now, I was in a hurry. :redface: )
New to all this CB stuff. Can't wait till my stuff gets here.

Welcome to the hobby. Don't worry right away about the cobra antennas. You will have a lot of fun with the 980 and when you see fit..upgrade the antenna. I would do that before anything else. Have fun and if you ever have any questions there are a lot of good people here that I am sure would answer and questions and help you out.

Black 2003 Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7l HO. Stock so far, except for an exhaust I just got installed this morning. (High-flow Magnaflow converter, Flowmaster series 70, 3" tubing, sounds cool.) Lift and tires to come.

I've got a BC980 and some 33s for my 1st gen Tacoma. You're gonna probably want a good magnet mount on top of that Cherokee, too.

I had a 2000 XJ (gonna get another one someday) and ran a 2950DX into a Wilson 1000 roof mount. I ran a mag mount before that. I mounted my radio between the visors. Not sure if yours has an console thingy above or not.

There are some good radio install pics on the various Jeep forums, all flavor of jeeps included. Whenever I hit the trail, I just unscrewed the coil if I thought the trail would knock it off. If you ever drop your fuel tank, put some ferrites on your fuel pump wires. Can't recall the brand, but Carquest Auto Parts sells a line of pumps that are RFI filtered. That fuel pump whine will drive you nuts on AM.

Anyways, welcome!