• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

NOS vs well-used 4cx tubes

Naysayer

Mar 6, 2020
New York
I’m a newbie when it comes to ceramic tubes. The 4cx300 variety is what I’m trying to use. I was fortunate to get several used 4cx300y tubes from a generous Ham out West for little more than shipping (callsign added later when I dig it out) and I purchased some NOS tubes from eBay: Some sealed in cans and some in unsealed boxes.

For this Post, I tried two eBay tubes (different Sellers) sold as NOS 4cx300a. They came in the boxes with the 1-piece, yellow plastic insert. One 4cx300a had no marks whatsoever and looked pristine. The other had light marking on the tube pin/tabs but otherwise showed no sign of heating or anode clips, etc. Almost pristine.

The two used 300y tubes were well-worn with obvious signs of heating, pin/tab and anode clamp scratches, heavily tarnished, hard to read the text, etc. I used the worst pair of 300y tubes for first Power-up attempts. After I had about 130W from an old CB and addressed several issues that arose, I thought it was time to try the NOS 300a tubes. I switched the Bias, Screen and Plate voltages and began the conditioning process I read about online.

I found articles advising to run only the filaments w/ blower on low for at least 12 hours when installing new tubes that were stored for long periods. It’s a new build and requires babysitting as this would be the first long stretch of Power On. I managed about 6 hours uninterrupted and a few more hour-long periods with just the filaments On, tube blower running low. Admittedly, a lot less than 12 hours/overnight. This process required more than a week as cooling issues required revising the 40mm fans moving air underneath the chassis.