• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

One little piece of "alignment philosophy"......

guitar_199

Mar 8, 2011
Deer Park, TX
This one is just one of my radios that I am studying.... as such I do not have it on the bench. I am hoping that this question will just be "philosophy"..... more to the point....... "what am I missing here"!!!!

The patient is a Royce 1-600. The photo clips are from the SAMS CB Photofact for it.
I will continue below the pics.

(alignment instructions)
CflYPe4.png

(driver and final circuit)
BFhjxWc.png

(output filter circuit)
Vw1rVhY.png

------
OK....here we go.

The last step of the transmit alignment discusses "removing the jumper at TP and inserting a
0 -1A milliammeter in the circuit. That sounds confusing.... as "0 - 1A" suggests one thing....."milliammeter" suggests another. But ride with me a minute......

The final circuit snippet shows where the jumper is..... in the collector circuit for the final... right where I would expect it to be.

The output filter snippet shows where L17 is..... right smack in the middle of the filter.

Here comes the question..........

The instructions say...... Adjust (L17) for 5 watts maximum.

Okay, I know the instructions (at the top) say to connect an RF watt meter.......but two steps earlier has you adjusting the final for 3 watts. So we are at three watts.......

Now....this step has me adjust L17 for 5 watts.

The question is..... "why did they have me put in a milliammeter when they never give me a current setting to shoot for"? Nowhere in the document do they say anything about what "current" I should adjust for.....rather....they are just telling me to spin L17 until I get 5 watts.