• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

REALISTIC TRC-421A

624ace

Jun 20, 2012
HEY I HAVE A REALISTIC TRC-421A AND WOULD LIKE TO KNOW WHERE I SHOULD PUT IN MY SWING KIT. I AM NEW TO THE CB RADIO HOBBY. THANKS IN ADVANCE 624ACE

In the garbage?
lol!

But seriously folks, I gotta million of 'em!

OK, OK; no more shtick . . .

If you can take the cover off of the radio and figure out what chassis/board it is (since RS doesn't make their own radios but re-brands them) that would help a lot. If it is a Uniden board, shouldn't be too much problem to find it.

WELL I GOT THE RADIO SETTING HERE ON THE SHELF IN FRONT OF ME I WILL TAKE THE COVER OFF AND LET YOU KNOW. IF IT IS A UNDEN BRAND DO YOU KNOW WHERE AND WHAT PARTS TO TAKE OUT TO PUT MY SWING KIT IN? I WOULD LIKE TO GET STARTED IN MODDING RADIOS. SO THANKS MUCH ROB...

First of all - you already have a swing kit for this radio? No instructions? Is that kit made specifically for that radio? If not; it will not work for it. Swing kit part values are different from radio to radio. Sorry; that is the way the mop - flops.

http://www.cbtricks.com/pub/secret_cb/vol_09/graphics/secret_cb_vol_09_pg35_36.pdf

The ONLY mod I found for this radio (see above link) disables the AM Limiter. Which means that your AMC control ('modulation') will no longer work - it will be wide-open. This will also stress the output transistors to fail prematurely. Do you want that to happen? Cannot use a power mic with the radio - either. And if you should run an amp with it - it will sound like real crap! No joke. Better understand this now before you make such a leap. Do this mod at your own risk!

Better off with a Cobra 21, 25, 29 gtl/ltd if you must have a swing kit.

Last edited: