1. You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.
    Dismiss Notice

Recommend a pwr spply

Discussion in 'CB and Export Equipment and Accessories' started by doober, Feb 9, 2019.

  1. doober

    doober New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Looking for suggestions for a decent power supply to run my stryker 955 and tx star 500 in a home base station set-up.

    TIA


     

  2. Riverman71

    Riverman71 Part-time Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    972
    doober likes this.
  3. 338_MtRushmore

    338_MtRushmore Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    543
    If you are on a budget the megawatts are great, but the fans on the 50amp are pretty loud. I would get at least a 50 amp supply, as a 30 would be running full tilt and still be underpowered unless you go real easy.
     
    357magnum, doober and Riverman71 like this.
  4. Riverman71

    Riverman71 Part-time Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2013
    Messages:
    1,551
    Likes Received:
    972
    Yep. My bad. I forgot the TS 500 pulled that many amps.
     
    Eldorado828 likes this.
  5. Eldorado828

    Eldorado828 From the high plains of Texas

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    83
    Man that's a lot of radio for that 500. I would worry about magic smoke running those 2 together.
     
    357magnum and doober like this.
  6. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    807
    I agree, the 955 is a very hot radio for that amp. Hope you can dial that radio down enough. The radio needs probably 10-15 amp supply and the 500 can draw 45-55 amps plus you will want some head room. I would look for a nice 70 amp power supply.
     
    357magnum, doober and Eldorado828 like this.
  7. doober

    doober New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thanks for the input guys. I had the shop tune them together so that the 955 at its lowest power wouldn't kill the transistors on the amp. (hopefully!!) The 955 is stock other than the 11m conversion and tune. There wasn't a whole lot of info that came with the amp the spec sheet says the input is 13.6v and <6amps....which did seem kind of low on the amperage requirements. Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!
     
  8. psycho

    psycho Running a special on our rooms!

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    3,420
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    I will never understand the practice of buying a high output export radio if you are going to run an amp.
     
    9C1Driver likes this.
  9. undertaker

    undertaker Undertaker

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,929
    Likes Received:
    829
    I run my 955 as a base no amp needed...plenty (y)of contacts
     
    Eldorado828 and fogdog like this.
  10. fogdog

    fogdog Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    196
    I totally agree with undertaker. The 955 doesn't really need an external amp. I use a megawatt 36 amp, and it works well for the past 3 years. It can be a tad loud with fan noise though. If were being honest.
     
    Eldorado828 and undertaker like this.
  11. 743SEPA

    743SEPA New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2018
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    23
    I ran my 955 with Jetstream 50 amp,the dual meters are nice. When I ran an amp the 955 went on a Samlex 23 amp and the amp went on the Jetstream. Running all barefoot for now though.
     
    Eldorado828 likes this.
  12. 9C1Driver

    9C1Driver Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    807
    That's because new out of the box a Texas Star is a CW transmitter (wink wink) and that's all it does draw. It will also not function as an amplifier like that because it is used to practice CW keying. After a conversion it becomes an amplifier.

    As far as your radio goes, since you have variable power control on the front of the radio there really is nothing much to "match up" to an amplifier. You can do that yourself, turn the carrier (RF Power) all the way down.

    In your case though they probably had to de-tune the radio some so it would not burn your amp up. Kinda defeats the whole purpose of buying a high powered radio but that's the way it goes I guess.
     
  13. RT431

    RT431 In the swamp

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    61
    I never understood that either.
    If a high powered radio has to be detuned to run an amp, then what's the point? Why not get an amp that matches the radio?
     
  14. Blackcat630

    Blackcat630 Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    434
    The 955 with a conservative tune running balls out into a sweet 16 would be a nice combo..
     
    Shadetree Mechanic likes this.
  15. drgrant

    drgrant Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2019
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    40
    IMO a 955HP isn't really high output... high output is over 100W in my book...
     

Share This Page

  • About Us

    The WorldwideDX Radio Forum was originally established in 2001. We pride ourselves on welcoming Radio Hobby enthusiasts of all types, while offering unbiased, informative, and friendly discussion among the members. We are working every day to make sure our community is the best Radio Hobbyist's site.
  • Like us on Facebook

  • Premium VIP Member

    The management works very hard to make sure the community is running the best software, best designs, and all the other bells and whistles. Care to buy us a beer? We'd really appreciate it!

    Donate to us!