• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

RG8X????

oldtoys1961

Nov 11, 2012
Hi, newbie here. Just got talked back into cb'ing by a few friends after I got out of it in the late 80's. So things ave changed a bit since.

I've got a used A-99, seems to work ok although 1.5swr is the best I can get with the tuning rings,50' of RG8x and a TRC-433 base, so I'll let it ride as long as its below the 2 level. All extra grounded with 4' rods. But the main question is pertaining to coax.

I've got to move it further away from the house due to power lines. I'm looking at 75' away for safety and 30' at least up to base. So I'm figuring 150' of coax. And this stuff isn't cheap nowadays so is RG8x acceptable for this task?

If RG8X will do then thats great as it fits the budget of a single father of 3, so the budget is tight. I also have a friend who'll loan me an old 100w amp/pre-amp to play with so I'll be sticking that in there if I can get this going affordably.

Will RG-8x work? Yes. That being said I personally would use something like RG-213, which is a more durable cable, and will have a bit less loss in the process. It is more expensive, but you get what you pay for.

The DB

That's a pretty long run of RG8X, but I'm with m42duster.... if that's what you can afford, do it and get on the air. Probably not enough loss that you'll ever notice anyway, especially with 100 whiskey's of extra help.

RT307

Reactions: 3 people