• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

uniden pc 68 xl..... mosfet..... maybe?

O

oldslowchevy

hi everyone. i am not new to cb's at all though i am new to working on them.
i did do a swing mod that works really good but it was sujested to install a 2sc1969 final in it. though i am haveing a very hard time finding a "real" 1969 final,....soooooo i just left the stock final in the radio.

so looking around i found 1 final a tip120 specs are:

power dissipataion 65watts

collector emitter votage 60 volt

collector base voltage 60 volt

emitter base voltage 5 volt

collector current (continuous) 5 amp (peak) 8 amp

base current 120 ma

the other that i have is a mofset a irf510 it's spec are as follows:

Vdss =100 volt

vgs +- 20 volt

Ip = 4 amp

dm = 16 amp

Igm =1.5 amp

Pd = 20 watt

both of these were bought at radio shack and item numbers are 276-2068 for the tip120 and 276-2072 for the mosfet.

which of these are worth it or are they? if the mosfet is... is it a plug and play or is there more work to be done?

i do not know what the stock final is in the radio and to be honest i am to lazy to take the radio back apart to look to look...... sorry.

i have seen nothing on the net about convertto the mosfets that i could make heads or tails of......... i'm not that bright...... but i can lift heavy things.

thank you rob, it does seem to be a bit of work but nothing all that bad.

i am not sure if i will go this route or not though. i saw the one final (TIP120) was good to 60 watts which is why i picked it up. the i have heard a few things about the IRF510 mosfets being the new way to go.