• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Uniden PC78LTW No receive audio or signal when on CB setting

SkyhawkOH

Aug 17, 2022
Hi, This is my first time posting. I bought a used Uniden PC78LTW. Here are the issues and what I've done so far.
When the radio has sat for awhile, no power connected. I connect the power, turn it on, with the switch set to CB, i hear receive audio for like 2 seconds then it goes away. After that, there is no cb receive audio or signal showing on the meter. I can key the mic and there is output and audio being transmitted as I can hear myself on another CB. I key the other CB and cannot hear myself on the Uniden, nor do I get any receive meter movement on the Uniden. I plugged in an external speaker, still no cb audio.. I plugged in the ext speaker into the PA and it works loud. With the internal speaker, I tried WX and it comes through loud and clear. The volume control is also working on weather. I turned off the Dynamic squelch, no effect. I sprayed all the controls with contact cleaner including the CB, WX, PA switch. No difference. I pressed down my finger across the circuit board. When I got to the audio chip, i heard the hum noise from my finger touching. There were no intermittent circuit traces that popped on when pressing down on the board. I srayed and wiggled all the plug in connectors, no difference. The radio looks unmodified. I need some direction on this. Is it a bad electrolytic or ceramic cap somewhere? Any help appreciated. Thanks. SkyHawk Cleveland, OH

I'm going to jump in and say....

1) if your finger touching the audio chip got a hum/buzz out of the speaker... AND.... you transmit and modulation works then that suggests that all of your audio section is working...and would seem that the transmit is working.