• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Washington mayhem

Mark Malcomb

Nov 27, 2019
Gentlemen I am now frustrated, I am not a radio tech, however I've been a avionics tech for 25 years. I have found my old washington had no audio, I found nothing inside suspicious. TX works, freq counter was good
Opened old lolipop checked output with a small audio amp. nothing. I went on Ebay and bought 2 working Washington's One had a D104-Tug9 and they work. My old radio was free to me but very modified by a mad scientist. It has a tug108 stand. I installed a w2eny element. still no output. Dont know how to repair my frankenstien mic. This radio kicked but in 1988. Guess i'm attached to it and stubborn I want to rewire the whole damn mic. However will it work with radio. it supplies the 9V. Many wires are clipped and jumpers
installed. Damn some mics cost more than the radio. I know possibly advise would say throw it out. I cant seem to do that. I need another mad scientist who can help. Sorry for long winded message. and yes I type like crap
Thanks to All.

Reactions: S&W357

OK guys That was terrible bloody post. I should have said "does anyone want to make some money!" I'm pissed off and can't type worth a darn, However I talk just fine

d104_3wireschematic_tug8.jpg

d104-to-uniden-washington-5-pin-wiring-diagram-2.jpg

The mic must be wired correctly, otherwise, you may have no RX/TX
Do any of the other mics make the radio work correctly?

d104_3wireschematic_tug8.jpg

d104-to-uniden-washington-5-pin-wiring-diagram-2.jpg

The mic must be wired correctly, otherwise, you may have no RX/TX
Do any of the other mics make the radio work correctly?