• You can now help support WorldwideDX when you shop on Amazon at no additional cost to you! Simply follow this Shop on Amazon link first and a portion of any purchase is sent to WorldwideDX to help with site costs.

Yaesu VX-7R

KF7EIF

Aug 30, 2009
Hi there. I am a new HAM as I got my call just over a week ago and only got my radio the week before that.

I am having fun out on the 2m repeaters, but still getting used to it and having some issues. I saved a few repeaters in the memory and got the PL tones right and made contact with a number of people.

I added a new repeater that a friend told me about, added the PL tones and thought it was working but it does not seem to "save" the TONE and PL frequency. If I change to a different memory and then back to the new repeater, it loses them. I am following the procedure in the manual that worked for the other repeaters, but this one does not seem to be working.

Any pointers for a newbie here? I'm sure there is something simple I am overlooking.

Thanks

Stephen
KF7EIF, Arizona
"But it's a dry heat"

Try setting up the repeater frequency and pl tone, then save it to memory. Or is that what you are doing?

Try setting up the repeater frequency and pl tone, then save it to memory. Or is that what you are doing?

I think my problem was trying to update repeaters after storing them in memory. I thought that by setting the pl tone and pressing PTT to save it saved. It only saves it temporarily, I needed to REsave the repeater to memory which means I need to remember what memory # it is or I will end up with a bunch of duplicate entries with some correct pl tones and some incorrect ones.

This new hobby, it is a learning process right?

Stephen, KF7EIF, Arizona

Welcome to the world of ham radio ( Congrats )

Oh yes...there is a bit of a learning process..

Not to worry....take a few deep breathes...
have some patience and you will conquer it i am sure..

You chose as your first HT a good radio..